The world was forever changed when we woke up…

We bought a vacuum cleaner eight years ago TODAY!  We didn’t KNOW.  We work night shift.  IT happened while we slept.  We got up, knowing we were going out to buy a new, for “real” vacuum cleaner that evening.  We got up.  No phone messages.  No logging in to check email.  Let’s just get in the car and go buy a vacuum cleaner already…for God’s sake we have a HOUSE and NEED to vacuum!  We chatted.  No radio.

It seemed odd…not so much traffic.  The store was small.  It was quiet.  We bought a vacuum cleaner.  Next, we needed to stop at Home Depot to pick up washers. TV’s were EVERYWHERE.  This IS odd…?!  We were in the check out line and I went over to ask someone what was going on, has something happened…?! RIGHT there, in Home Depot, I learned what had happened while we slept.  Tears streaming down my face, I took my husbands hand and we came home…with a new vacuum cleaner.  It was my Sister-In-Laws birthday.  How can this be…

For those who don’t know, I am a Nurse.  I am sensitive and empathetic.  I could NOT visit Auschwitz when we were in Germany.  Could NOT.  The actual PAIN was palpable…to me.  I wept.

Now, I am at a place where some of my patients/students lost a parent in 9/11.  Unimaginable.  I still FEEL that pain.  What kind of craziness HATES with such fervor…?!  I can’t wrap my mind around it.  Honestly, I hope to never be able to wrap my mind around it.  I will reach for your hand and give it a squeeze. Hold on.  Not everything is heresy.

Truthfully, I would much prefer to wrap anything in a Q-U-I-L-T!!!  Avoidance?  Maybe.  Honesty?  Most definitely!  Take my hand and let’s move forward. We will always remember the past.  It is etched in our psyche, our soul our being.  Let’s just move forward…and can we be hopeful…

Peace and Piecefully, Pam

4 Comments

Filed under Quilting

4 responses to “The world was forever changed when we woke up…

  1. Pingback: Broken Dishes « Piecefully

  2. thank you for your sharing.

  3. Consuelo

    Nice post Pam.

    btw….HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!

  4. Thanks for this…it says it all …and very well.

    My 15 year old son was in the shower…he wanted to be a journalist so as the news flashed live [10.30 ish pm our time] I knocked on the bathroom door and told him something was happening now…live.

    He came out to see people jumping from the tower and within minutes one tower collapsed. It was and is unforgettable…we must never forget but so many people lost their lives and others their innocence.

Leave a Reply

