Close Encounter

by Lauretta Crites

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Isn’t this FUN!!!  Doesn’t this quilt make YOU want to swim, dive, snorkel?!?!?!  I could so…sew reach out and touch!  ; )  This was hanging to the right of Elizabeth Dillinger’s Christopher’s Decision quilt.  Making for a pretty interactive and interesting area of the Houston Quilt Festival.  I felt like I wanted to ‘dive’ right in!  ; )

Houston was SUCH an inspiration!!!  And, do you see what I mean about ALL the quilts being WINNERS?!  I would certainly HATE to be a judge!

On a different topic…I want to give a SHOUT OUT to the women taking the hand applique class that I’ve been teaching at Cloth and Bobbin using Kim McLean’s Flower Pots design.  These women have been doing such a TERRIFIC job!!!  Seriously.  This quilt is a BIG commitment and many of my students have stayed with this.  Their work is incredible!!!  It is FUN to see the difference, the variations and the evolution of each person’s project!!!  It’s been a real honor to work with these students.  To see their progress, to encourage and witness their growth…it has been nothing short of amazing.  I thank them for the opportunity.

It is rainy and windy here.  I just returned from walking Jingle a short while ago.  I am thankful for a warm, dry home.  Enjoy your weekend and take a few stitches when you can.  I hope to do the same.  Plus, I am visiting the quilts from the Blogger’s Quilt Festival and enjoying each one!!!  : )

3 Comments

Filed under Quilting

3 responses to “Close Encounter

  1. Wow – that is an amazing quilt!!! The person who made that (along with all of the other quilts you had pictures of below) took quilting to a whole new level. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving such a nice comment. How do I follow your blog? Today I am making a beef stew, sewing on a binding and going to visit some more quilts on line. Life is good.

    Carol

  3. I’m not sure what is more impressive, the ideas/creativity/inspiration behind the quilts or the stunning skill in execution. Someday I hope to be able to experience this all for myself. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

