Trick or Treat basket…?!

Not quite.  Maybe a cauldron…  I joined Anne Sutton’s A Tisket A Tasket BOM in January and have been having THE BEST time making these darn cute blocks.  : )  I can hardly wait for the 5th of each month for the new block to be posted!!!  What’s going to be in this month’s basket…?!?!?!

Part of the reason I decided to join in this adventure was : 1.) To learn the decorative stitches my sewing machine offers and make each block by machine only..NO hand work!!! and 2.) To join Flick’r and broaden my internet and tech skills.  Well, I’m pleased to say I’ve been doing both.

While I made last month’s A Tisket A Tasket BOM I discovered I only had enough basket fabric for 11 baskets, not 12.  Uh oh.  Well, Scarlet O’Hara took hold…”I’ll think about that tomorrow!”  was my plan.

Then the October BOM was posted.  Ugh.  Don’t hate me, but I’m not such a big fan of the Sunbonnet Sue quilt block.  : /  I thought I’d make some adjustments to my design…perhaps a ghost popping up out of my basket?!  I wanted to use a filmy nylon fabric in white, grey or silver.  Amazingly, in my stash I had green, copper and white with red hearts.  Uh, no to those three choices!

Hurry up!!!  It’s Hallowe’en!!!  This is the LAST day of October and my Bunny Hill block isn’t done.  It isn’t even started.  C’mon!?!?!?

I pulled Hallowe’en fabric off my shelves.  Piles of it!  Did I mention Hallowe’en is my husband’s FAVORITE holiday?  Yeh, and I’ve been working on a Hallowe’en quilt  for him (for a few years now!), so I had pretty many fabrics to peruse and choose.

I didn’t want to have to run out to the store and BUY fabric to make my block.  I have to have something here I can work with, right…?!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Alexander Henry to the rescue!!!  I hope Anne doesn’t mind my changes to her block!

Piecefully, Pam

7 Comments

Filed under Quilting

7 responses to “Trick or Treat basket…?!

  1. I was sure I left a comment, somewhere[??] on this cute block….Any idea where? Or am I loosing my mind?

    • sewpam63

      Molly – I believe you left a comment on my Flick’r block, which I appreciate! Thank you VERY much! But, now you’re at my blog, so your Flick’r comment won’t show up here. ; ) It’s techno-confusing, no?! Thanks for the visit and comment and c’mon back anytime!

  2. Jean Burke

    How cool is this? I knew your Halloween block would be special but this is spectacular!!! Nicely done, Pam! Piece…

    • sewpam63

      Thanks Jean! It was done out of necessity. I only have enough fabric to make 11 of the brown baskets. I made that discovery while working on my September basket. Doh!

  3. Happy Halloween! I’m glad we’ve reconnected. For some reason I thought your wedding anniversary was on Halloween. I don’t know why I thought that.

    • sewpam63

      Deborah – we used to have a Hallowe’en Open House on the odd years. Our last one was after we eloped. And, our theme was Frankenstein and his bride. ; ) We had a wedding cake that was orange on the inside, but frosted with BLACK icing! Our invitation was fashioned after a wedding invitation. We gave little test tubes with “bloody” bubbles as favors…instead of throwing rice. CrAzY, fUn, CaCkLe, BoO!!! Just as much SPIRIT and LOVE here, but without ALL the work!

Leave a Reply

