Feeling dizzy.

I am still doing unit construction to create the circle circle units I need for the borders of my Flower Pots project.  But finally, I have decided to begin sewing finished circle circle units to the top border.  Yippee!!!  ; )  I’m making progress!!!

During my November Flower Pots class at Cloth & Bobbin, one of the student’s asked how I get such smooth finished edges on my applique shapes?  Then she turned over the piece.  I have asked the students to refrain from looking at the backs of my blocks…  I did not START this way!  I have been doing hand applique for about eight years now, I think?!  My skills have evolved enough for me to feel comfortable stitching and I enjoy the entire process of hand applique.  I remember asking my (BEST EVER!) Mother-In-Law if applique shapes are to look like they’re floating on the surface of the background block or like they’re a part of it?  I believe she was a bit flummoxed at my query.  She said, “Either.  It depends on the look you’re going for.”  During classes with teachers like; Karen Kay Buckley, Jane Townswick (no blog or website), Sharon Schamber and Becky Goldsmith it has been reinforced the stitches you make are to be small. You’re only to catch a thread or two with each stitch and take your next stitch a couple threads away from where you just stitched.  OK.  I listened to all that.  I practiced and I am satisfied with my results.  Remember, it’s taken me eight’ish years.  So, it’s daunting for a beginner to look at the back of my hand applique blocks.  Here’s what they see…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Two down, only 38 more to go!  ; )

Enjoy your Monday.  Make time to take a few stitches!

Piecefully, Pam

Leave a comment

Filed under Quilting

Leave a Reply

