Free motion Thursday…

I did some free motion quilting practice throughout the week, but set aside specific time for free motion quilting on Thursday evening.  Earlier in the week I cleaned and oiled my sewing machine.  I filled a couple bobbins.  Threaded my machine and was set to go…SEW!  Here are the results…

Then, feeling a bit gutsy and wishing to continue my free motion evolution, I got out a ‘real’ quilt sandwich.  I wanted to:  >use the leaf veins as a quilting guide, >not mark a quilting design, >not alter my thread tension at all, and quilt with a rayon thread!?!?!?  Here are those results…

This entire piece has been an experiment…>using a traditional (Whig Rose) pattern with non-traditional fabrics, >doing machine applique, >using a machine blanket stitch, >sewing with rayon thread.

Well, there you have it.  I’m not ThRiLlEd with my results.  I wouldn’t say I’ve been successful, but at least I AM trying new things.  I am forcing my way out of MY box.  I WANT to learn and grow as a quilter.  And, while not perfect, it’s FUN and I am enjoying the process and journey!  ; )

So…sew, Happy TGIF!!!  We are headed to our first Holiday Bash this weekend.  : )  It will be FUN, and apparently, snow filled too!  May you get a few minutes of sewing time and tea sipping.  ; )

Piecefully and with Merriment, Pam

4 Comments

Filed under Quilting

4 responses to “Free motion Thursday…

  1. I’m having trouble figuring out the part where you were not successful! I think it looks fabulous and am very impressed!

  2. I think it looks good! But, most importantly, it sounds like you had fun. Have a safe trip.

  3. arlijohn

    What fun! Wish I had been there sewing alongside you.

  4. Jean Burke

    Nice job, Pam. Have a wonderful weekend! Safe travels…..

Leave a Reply

