They say

practice makes perfect, but it doesn’t feel that way…  I haven’t actually placed my Pastel Bubbles quilt under my free motion presser foot yet.  Chicken?! Perhaps. Ridiculous?  Maybe.  Finding excuses?  Probably.

I have, however, been doing a LOT of fmq practice.  I have been trying to get a rhythm.  Today my husband commented, “You sound more smooth.”  I have been trying to be smooth.  I want left, right, up, down, sideways, backward, straight, curved movements/motions/designs/sewing to not cross over one another or be jagged. I’m asking a lot.  I know!  That’s why there’s been SO much practice!!!

I am attempting to teach myself which direction a quilt needs to move under my fmq presser foot.  Right or left?  Up or down?  Going which direction can I better see…with a less obstructed view?!  I don’t know unless I figure it out.  The only way I can do that is with p-r-a-c-t-i-c-e!!!

I do have a BSR, but removed it some weeks/months ago.  Then, I was using it, just not plugged in.  It has an open toe, but the electric eye reading part of the foot blocks my view!  So, I switched to a closed toe darning foot and can actually see MUCH better now!  An open toe darning foot is preferred, but I don’t currently own one for my machine.  I’ve added to the top of my wish list though!  ; )

OK.  Since I’m no longer using the BSR electric eye fabric reading foot, I have to learn tempo and speed to control my stitch length.  Lord have mercy, this process has had MANY steep learning curves!!!  And, I feel fairly confident there are more to come…

All that stuff, plus, I want my free motion quilting to have a natural and organic *feel* to it.  Not forced and stiff.  It is my desire to quilt without following a marked design.  To *learn* how to quilt myself out of a corner, to quilt directly on top of another line of quilting to track back where I need to stitch next.  Yeh, I don’t have high expectations or goals…?!

I keep asking myself how many MILES of thread must Diane Gaudynski, Sue Nickels, Sharon Shamber, Hollis Chatelain run through their machines before they felt satisfied with their stitches…?!?!?!

Piecefully, Pam

2 Comments

Filed under Quilting

2 responses to “They say

  1. kay

    Those circles look good to me. Do you have a Supreme Slider? It’s absolutely wonderful. My quilting has improved 100% from that alone.

  2. tirane93

    you know what? that quilting is really pretty darned good! i bet all you need to do is take a few deep breaths, roll your shoulders once in a while and quit clenching your teeth when you work. your compositions in the circles are well balanced and your fill stitching is pretty even.

    step away from your work for a little while and look at it with fresh eyes. i bet you’ll like it more.

    keep after it!

Leave a Reply

