half square triangles + sample block = math

So, I’d like to begin sewing my pieced Bunny Hill Snowbound blocks.  I saw another Flick’r member’s cool pieced block.  Hmmm, I like how THAT looks…maybe I’ll give it a try…?!

OK.  Those aren’t half square triangles (HST).  They’re not quarter square triangles (QST) either!?  Mmmm, they’re hour glass blocks.  HOW do I make those?!  Is there m-a-t-h?!

I REALLY just want one sample block.  I’m not sure I like how my fabric choices are playing together and I don’t want to make too much of a time investment or big comittment here…  Books, paper, pencil, rulers, etc.

Here’s what I’ve got:

Two HST sets

Cut in half on the diagonal

Yield two hourglass blocks

So/sew, my sample pieced Snowbound block using previously selected fabrics and nine patch blocks

Hmmm, not so sure I like it...?

Together with my appliqued Snowbound blocks...

Yuck-o!  Oooh, I’m not happy with it.  : /  I like the pieced block, but NOT done in these fabrics and definitely NOT with my appliqued blocks!  Thank goodnes for a mock-up/sample block!!!  I have other fabrics I’ll try.  And, at least I learned how to make hourglass blocks without pulling out all my hair…just some of it.  ; )

Do you have any good tips for making hst, qst or hourglass blocks?  Would you care to share…?!  Do you press seams open or to one side?  Thanks for stopping by!

Piecefully, Pam

1 Comment

Filed under Quilting

One response to “half square triangles + sample block = math

  1. Pingback: Mock-up, math and « Piecefully

Leave a Reply

