Warning! Warning, Will Robinson!

Here are some cute Easter projects!!!  And, check out Jean’s Bunny Peeps.  ; )

Has anyone seen this?!  I LOVE it!!!  Quilting is s-e-w amazing!!!

All that, AND it’s to be sunny today!!!

I see the glass as half FULL and I’m glad I do!!!  : )

I’m going to give an opinion here.  Consider yourself warned.  I will make no apologies.  You do not have to continue reading…

I live in a free Country.  We have freedom of speech.  You are entitled to your own opinion.  That said, I was raised to not say anything if I didn’t have anything nice to say.  I LIKED the AQS Lancaster Quilt Show!!!  I LIKED the quilts – ALL of them!!!  There may have been some I liked more than others, but I see the merit, craft(wo)manship, skill, time, love that each quilt holds.  One of the things I like BEST about quilting is the great variety this hobby and art form has to offer!!!  Art, bed, modern, traditional, wall hanging, beginner, intermediate, advanced, embellished, simple, Amish, wholecloth, painted, trapunto, crib, doll…you get the idea, right?!

I feel INSPIRED looking at quilts hanging in a Show.  I go to a Show expecting to see AMAZING quilts.  I want my jaw to drop and my socks to be blown off.  I look for inspiration.  I was rewarded with all those things at the AQS Lancaster Quilt Show.  There were BEAUTIFUL, AMAZING, GORGEOUS, SPECTACULAR quilts!!!

Some of the quilts that were entered and awarded a ribbon were produced by professional quilters.  Folks who make a living as a quilter – whether they write books, design patterns, make award winning quilts, design fabrics, tour, teach, longarm quilt, etc.  I would EXPECT to see their finest work…that’s what I’m going there to see, right?  There have been comments made about “over achievers alley.”  Rather than feel envy, be inspired.  You don’t have to make those quilts.  Make your own quilts.  Quilt where you are!

OK, I’m off my soap box now and I don’t think that was too harsh or mean.  It has been my experience that gardeners and quilters are two of the nicest groups of people I’ve ever met.  Can we keep it that way, please?!

Piecefully, Pam

6 Comments

Filed under Quilting

6 responses to “Warning! Warning, Will Robinson!

  1. Debby Kemball

    Well said Pam! And thank you for pointing out that those of us with quilts in “over achievers alley” aren’t over achievers, just in love with what we do (or at least I am and I’m sure everyone else with quilts there feels the same). Your blog is very balanced and fair (and the only blog I read).! Best wishes Debby

  2. sewpam63

    Thanks, ladies, for your understanding and support. The less than kind comments I’ve referred to were not directed at me personally (although now they might be…?!).

    When attending a Show, a quilter’s BEST work is being exhibited, not their worst. Celebrate their accomplishment. Strive to achieve that level of skill, or simply admire it.

    I wish to support AQS in their first attempt at holding a Show of this caliber in Lancaster. Yes, there may be room for improvement. And, it will come.

    So – AQS wasn’t ‘good enough’ for some and the quilts were ‘too good’… Hmmm, there’s just no pleasing everyone.

    Find the balance! ; )

  3. Consuelo

    You go girlfriend!

  4. Jean Burke

    Right on!

  5. I am sorry that you received any critical comments :(. I appreciate all the beautiful quilts at quilt shows and that you have shared with us on your blog. It’s great to be able to see the wide variety of quilting styles and methods. Would a budding artist complain to a museum about displaying the work of masters?!?! You go, girl!

  6. Pam I am enjoying your blog..all my best, Jennifer

Leave a Reply

