Do you do this

too?  I laundered a finished quilt today.  As I closed the washing machine lid I held my breath.  I always have the nagging worry that once the cycle is complete and I lift that lid again there will be nothing remaining of the quilt other then a tangled mass of thread and shreds of fabric.

I wash everything!  I launder my fabric when I bring it home.  My stash has clipped corners and is neatly folded on the shelves in our studio.  From start to finish it takes me a long while to make a quilt.  Regardless of size or purpose.  The project goes with me wherever I go.  So, by the end, it REALLY does need to be laundered.  And, I don’t know about you, but I like the soft, puckery look and feel of a washed quilt.

Today’s quilt did not unravel in the washing machine!  Thankfully, I’ve never had that happen (*knock wood*).  I still can’t help but hold my breath though.

Piecefully, Pam

6 Comments

Filed under Quilting

6 responses to “Do you do this

  1. The quilt is beautiful, and the quilting is phenomenal.

  2. It always makes me a little nervous when I wash a quilt too. How can you not worry when you’ve just spent so much time with them?

    I absolutely LOVE how your Tisket/Tasket quilt turned out!
    Your quilting is spectacular. 🙂

  3. I wash all my quilts when I finish them, they come out lovely but drying them is a pain. I’ve only had one disaster and that was a tied quilt with questionable batting. I’ll show it one day for a laugh. The basket quilt is just fabulous, I love your colours.

  4. I do! I can’t wait to toss them into the washer and dryer and have them come out all crinkly. Your ATAT looks fabulous – great quilting, I especially love October – good for you for getting it done. My poor blocks are still waiting for me to do some applique and embroidery, but they are on my to do list, and have made it to the pile beside my sewing machine…

  5. Debby Kemball

    Wow – fab machine quilting – looks fantastic – congratulations! All those Thursdays were worth it! Debs

Leave a Reply

