In a bind.

Would you mind sharing your binding techniques and tips with me?  What width binding do you use?  Bias or straight of grain?  Do you cut and then sew strips together or make a continuous binding?  Scrappy?  Do you use a walking foot when you apply your binding?  Do you hand stitich it to the back or machine stitch it?  Do you use a decorative machine stitch and sew the front and back at the same time?  Have you seen this over on the Piece O’ Cake blog? Very clever!  Or how ’bout this?!  I’ve done it with smaller projects and LOVE it!  And, some of you know how much I love Sharon’s techniques and my Elmer’s School glue!!!  I’m ALWAYS looking for new ways to do things…

I have my own style of doing binding.  It’s a bit mind bending.  I usually make bias binding.  Continuous bias binding.  I sew and press two seams.  That’s it.  My hand applique students can atest to this.  (Are any of you reading this…?!  Care to comment…?)

It’s cool and rainy here today.  I’m going to do some sewing prep using my iron.  I need to generate some heat!  Soup making later.  ; D  Enjoy your day and take a few stitches when you get the chance!

Piecefully, Pam

8 Comments

Filed under Quilting

8 responses to “In a bind.

  1. Jean Burke

    I like Consuelo’s method the best!!!!!

  2. sewpam63

    Wow!!! Some really great tips and techniques here ladies. : ) I am thinking of doing a binding tutorial… I use some unconventional techniques (yeh, I KNOW, you’re surprised, right?!) in the making and applying of my binding. I just wanted to get a feel for what others are doing. I really appreciate your willingness to share. Thank you!

  3. Robin K

    I’m like Janet and do my bindings 2 1/4″. I find that I like the look of a small tight binding. I should tell you that I use cotton batting in most of my quilts and it affects the way that I handle the quilting. I like the antique look that cotton batting gives my quilts, so I always make the quilt at least 2 inches bigger than I want and quilting (machine) all the way to the edge. I then machine wash and dry my quilts before I bind them. I also do not sew the binding right on the edge–I usually sew about an inch in, applying a slight tension on the binding as I sew it with a walking foot. I have found that this works really well for me in eliminating that sort of ruffled look that some quilts get to their edges.

    I only use bias binding which I make myself. I do not make it continuous as I find that I have to handle it too much and it gets pulled out of shape. I just cut the strips from regular yardage. I do however Heavily starch the binding, both as I cut them and when I am ironing them folded in half after sewing them together. I do the same thing as Janet when it comes to handling the miters–I think it distributes the bulk of the seam better.

    Gosh, what else… um, I press the seams open on the binding when I am piecing it together. I trim the excess quilt as I hand sew the binding to the back. Oh, and I use a technique that I saw on Fons & Porter for joining the ends of the binding together that makes the joined ends just vanish.

    Hope that helps, Robin K.

  4. I love 21/4″ or 2 1/2″ binding, double fold cut on the straight but I’m wondering if bias binding would cut down on the wave. To combat that I have been putting slight tension when I sew the straight binding strips on. I hated the handsewing of the mitred corners, I always seemed to get one that wouldn’t behave but I have since discovered that if I turn the side furtherest away first, then the side closet, they come out perfect. I use the same method as the tutorial on the dont look now blog and she has a great explanation of how to match up stripes, I also do the ends the same.

  5. What Comes Next?

    Up until recently, I would machine attach my binding and then hand sew it down. But, I’m all for getting it done, and the handsewing is very hard on my hands and wrist, so I’ve just started sewing it down by machine, and am very happy with the results. I cut all my strips and sew them together. I like dong this, although I’ve read about continuous binding, and know how it works, I have never tried it. Before I attach my binding (which I always cut at 2.25″) I stitch my quilted sandwich together approx 1/8″ in around the edges, I find this helps reduce bulk and puckering when attaching the binding. I use my 1/4″ guide foot, never my walking foot. I attach my binding to the back first, mitering corners, and join the ends at a 45 angle – I do not like the bulk of tucking the end under under. I leave a good length unstitched both at the begining and the end to facilitate this, so that I’m not cutting too close to my quilt. I then press flat to set seam and then press binding away from the edge. Wrap it to the front, and using my edgestitching foot, stitch it down from the front. I seldom use a decorative stitch. I like my binding tight, not loose. As with most things, the more often I do it, the easier it gets, and the fewer spots get “missed” and need to be restitched. Voila! My binding is completed in a fraction of the time it takes for me to hand sew it down!

  6. Consuelo

    Personally, I always find that my binding works best when I have Dolores do it.

  7. debby Kemball

    With all my pillows and quilts using various methods I have come back to thinking that double width binding, on the bias, is best of all. I have recently started using a completely different method though which has turned my bindings around. All my trademark edging sawtooth triangles are very vulnerable during quilting so I actually sew the binding on before I’ve made the quilt sandwich – ie just to the top of the quilt. I do this absolutely in the normal way as you would through all three layers but just through this top layer and it stabilises my edges during handquilting. This also means that I don’t have to use the walking foot (which I hate….). I have to say my quilts are hanging much straighter since using this method so I’m sticking to it. It means I have to put a handquilted stitch right up against the binding when I’m quilting the sandwich but that works well too. Will be interested to hear what others say. It’s only recently that my corners have mitred well and so I don’t know how qualified I am to say anything!

Leave a Reply

