Tools of the trade.

Similar to my Pressing matters post, this is a tool that I am finding invaluable in the making of my petals.  It is a bit unusual.  First, I want to introduce you to the roulette, next post I’ll explain how I am using it.

Roulette.  It is a Japanese creasing tool.  It reminds me of a miniature pizza wheel.  Quilter’s use it to ‘mark’ or crease fabric.  It is similar to a Hera marker. With a Hera marker you push the edge of the Hera marker along the fabric to make a crease.  The roulette?  It rolls along to create a crease.

I purchased my roulette several years ago from Maria at Pinwheels.  She still carries the roulettes and she also has BEAUTIFUL Daiwabo fabrics, plus an amazing assortment of Japanese sewing notions, kits, and other surprises sure to delight or inspire!  She also happens to be the only U.S. carrier of Oakshotts too and that’s how I discovered them!!!  Her store and her booth are always filled with intriguing goodies!!!  : )  And, she’s nice to boot!!!

Roulette, a Japanese creasing tool.

Piecefully, Pam

1 Comment

Filed under Quilting

One response to “Tools of the trade.

  1. That looks like a great tool. Thanks for the tip 🙂

Leave a Reply

