Yummy indeed!

Oh, it’s been so…sew delicious.  I have once again divided tasks.  Sewing pleasure tempered with home chores.  I needed to press the fabrics before cutting them.  I also happen to have chore ironing that needs done.  I emptied the iron of water as I steam pressed clothing.  Once empty, I starched and pressed fabrics. I did this more than once.  I got twice the profits from my efforts and could sew guilt-free.  I LOVE that!!!  Another win-win!

I planned tonight’s dinner earlier in the week.  Laundry was caught up and bathrooms clean.  Oh, gardening is under control for the moment too! So, I could sew with a clear conscience.  Nothing better…unless I was at the Beach, of course…?!  ; )

I made my oven baked brown rice earlier this week.  I baked a double batch and froze half.  With the remainder I made shrimp fried rice for dinner tonight.  I used this recipe and it turned out yummy indeed!  : D  I will definitely use this recipe again!  Go ahead, try my brown rice recipe AND the shrimp fried rice too. You won’t be disappointed.  It’s healthy and nutritious!

On to more important stuff.  I have a fabric stash.  It is sizable, but not grotesque.  In it I have had a stack of striped fabric.  That’s been sequestered.  Waiting. TODAY I cut into those stripes.  Slowly. Carefully.  With a bit of trepidation.  Not only was I cutting into that stack of stripes, but I was taking off my triangle training wheels too.  WhEeEeEeEe!!!  I am LOVING, loving my results!!!  Why have I waited this long?!?!?!

One of the reasons I have a stash is so I can SEW when I’m READY!!!  When I want to.  My fabrics have been laundered and are sitting there waiting. I’m a bit impatient when I decide I’m READY to sew.  RIGHT NOW!  Fabric.  Ruler.  Rotary cutter.  iPod.  Pure unbridled bliss is unleashed and it feels wonderful!

There are three different size triangles I need to cut for my current project!!!  I don’t have all those ‘fancy’ rulers…?!  And, guess what?!  I NEED to cut and sew RIGHT now!!!  I’m not a good shopper either.  I’m so NOT getting in the car and driving to the store.  That would KILL my excitement.  And, I can’t possibly WAIT for them to come from an on-line source!  So, I used card stock to make templates and a glue stick to affix them to the rulers I do have.  I learned this from Momma Barb, my amazing Mother-In-Law!  HA.  It WORKED!!!  I could cut, sew and maintain my excitement and energy.  HOORAY!!!

Here are some pix from today’s activities…

Have you seen this?  I think it is a marvelous approach/idea and wholeheartedly wish to embrace it!  I can’t get her widget to work, but when I can, you will find the link and pledge on my blog!  : )  Thanks for allowing me to share my enthusiasm from today with you!  Enjoy your evening.  I’m going to.  I’m a little pooped, but I’m going to read a few pages of a book my friend as leant me.  Thanks Jean!

Here’s looking forward to a FUN packed tomorrow too!

Piecefully, Pam

3 Comments

Filed under Quilting

3 responses to “Yummy indeed!

  1. Okay, I left a really long comment and it seemed to disappear. Send me an e-mail and I will tell you what I wrote.

  2. Hey Pam, I got your comment the other day, but I don’t have an e-mail address for you. I couldn’t contact you to answer your question or respond to your comment. I searched all over your site and couldn’t find it. So here is my answer, I pressed the seams to the side on some and open when joining the rows. You can see the ruler that I used to cut this quilt out here: http://cvquiltworks.blogspot.com/2009/12/starting-something-new.html

    and here: http://cvquiltworks.blogspot.com/2009/12/stripes-and-kaffe.html

    I actually have quite a few posts about this quilt. But the ruler is called the EZ Companion Angle Ruler by Darlene Zimmerman. It can be found here: http://www.feedsacklady.com/index.html

    This ruler has the markings on it for the 3 inch, 6 inch, and 9 inch blocks that you are making and it also tells you the size strips that you need to cut to create the triangles. No templates, at all, need to be made. Quick and easy, down and dirty! Your blocks are coming along so nicely, don’t you just love this quilt!! Did you see my finished top? I blogged about it a week or so ago.

  3. Very yummy stripes and I love all that you’ve done so far on your other posts too. Thanks for the glue stick tip, that’s going to come in handy.

Leave a Reply

