Henrietta Whiskers.

I am assembling some fabrics and notions for the newest Anne Sutton, Bunny Hill project.  What do you think…?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have recently had a query about my Snowbound blocks and machine applique technique.  I usually prefer to do hand applique, but there is not enough time in my world for this technique exclusively.  So, for some projects I have chosen to do machine applique.  In 2009, when Anne Sutton first offered a free on-line BOM, A Tisket A Tasket, without hesitation I joined and immediately knew my blocks would be machine appliqued.

For these projects I have used a lite fusible web, decorative rayon threads and a machine blanket stitch.  I must admit to not being a big fan of fusibles.  After several different projects and attempts, my fusible of choice is Heat ‘n Bond lite, hands down!!!

I “window pane” my fusible applique shape before it is pressed to my fabric.  I want my project to be soft, not stiff and hard.  Many times applique shapes are layered, the more fusible, the more stiff the piece becomes.

When using a fusible, the pattern must be reversed.  If not, your block/project will be the mirror image of the original design.  So, I trace the design on the other side of the pattern and use that reversed design to trace the fusible shapes I will need.  If this isn’t making much sense, or seems confusing, do it a couple times and you will see what I mean.

Here, Henrietta Whiskers has been traced on the opposite side of Anne Sutton's pattern, and the applique shapes for this block have been traced onto Heat 'n Bond lite.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The fusible shapes are cut out and some already window paned. You will see that I draw shapes inside of others. Also, the are 3 leaves, all the same size, I drew one, stacked the fusible, stapled it in the center, then cut 3 shapes at one time.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I will continue to share my journey as I machine applique Henrietta Whiskers.  Thank you for your interest, emails, comments and friendship.  ; )  Enjoy your Friday and 2011.

Piecdefully, Pam

5 Comments

Filed under Quilting

5 responses to “Henrietta Whiskers.

  1. Donna

    I am looking for a kit so I can make Henrietta Whiskers anyone know of where I can get this let me know please, Thanks Donna

  2. elena de la vega

    How can I buy your material from your factory to make a kilt?

  3. Crispy

    I love that you do the window fusible technique. It makes a quilt so much softer. It will be fun watching your progress on this one :0)

    Crispy

  4. Donna

    PS. The stuff was called Florianis Stitch N Wash Fusible–Here’s the website Janet posted, but it is available in the US too http://www.florianiembroidery.com.au/prodDetails.aspx?id=1237
    Not sure if it would work, but it’s an idea.

  5. Donna

    Hi Pam,
    Looking at your windowpaning which I’ve never seen before, but seems like a great idea since I dislike the feel of fusibles too, I wondered if the stuff Janet (Quiltsalott) used on her Stars and Sprigs would work to stiffen the piece and then wash away? I’ve never used it, so I’ve no idea if it would be stiff enough for the machne applique, but maybe that would give you the look you’re after? Though you’d have to secure the pieces with a gluestick or similar. (If I wasn’t so lazy, I’d give it a try). I’m looking forward to seeing your project.

Leave a Reply

